Farewell to the fairground

Lately, and perhaps unsurprisingly, I’ve been having moments of terror amid the general low level panic I imagine everyone has when they’re expecting their first child. I find myself wondering whether I’m really ready to be a parent. I see people out and about with much smaller people, and I think “am I really in that place, yet? Am I not waaaay too young to be contemplating motherhood*?” I keep thinking about nights out in trendy city bars with friends, ill-advised trips to cheesy clubs and surfing the night bus home, festivals, sundowners in parks, drinking the night away in sunny beer gardens.

So, I don’t have kids yet … what exactly does someone who’s ‘way too young’ to be settling down for motherhood do of a Saturday night? I’ll tell you what I did this weekend: the weekly shop at Sainsbury’s. I practically had to restrain myself from texting someone to brag that I’d managed to divide and pack the shopping into ‘fridge’ and ‘storecupboard’ bags for ease of unpacking once home.  I even took a photo, for pity’s sake!

Image

…yeah.  I think my worries about giving up my rock and roll lifestyle may just be unfounded.

X

*(FYI, I am 31. I am definitely NOT way too young.)

Leave a Reply

